Achan for a Breakin’!

Filed in:

The Bible is a Book of Tales (Narrative Theology)

I have been implying that Jesus’ parable of the minas is a picture taken out of the allotment of cities in Joshua 10-21.

What is a mina/minah?

According to Wikipedia, here a mina is a measure of weight equal to 50 shekels.

I don’t know if I had noticed it already, but today I noticed that the mina in Luke 19.20  was one “which I kept laid away in a handkerchief.”

A 50 shekel weight wrapped in a cloth…

So back to Joshua 7.

And Achan answered Joshua, “Truly I have sinned against the LORD God of Israel, and this is what I did:21when I saw among the spoil a beautiful cloak from Shinar, and 200 shekels of silver, and a bar of gold weighing 50 shekels, then I coveted them and took them. And see, they are hidden in the earth inside my tent, with the silver underneath.

See the old info leading up to this new find….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

