Baby Number 3 – and Paedocommunion

Welch Baby Number Three is on the way. We are in week four, so pray for stability. Fragility of the situation is characteristic of the first trimester. This gives me the opportunity to reflect on the question, when does faith begin, leading to the further question about infant communion:

I just want to point at some verses quickly, and I will take up the topic more in coming days.

Psalm 22.9-10 says:

Yet you are he who took me from the womb;
you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts.
On you was I cast from my birth,
and from my mother’s womb you have been my God.

Again, Psalm 71.5-6 relates these ideas to us:

For you, O Lord, are my hope,
my trust, O LORD, from my youth.
Upon you I have leaned from before my birth;
you are he who took me from my mother’s womb.
My praise is continually of you.

Further more, Ps 8.2 :

Out of the mouth of babies and infants,
you have established strength because of your foes,
to still the enemy and the avenger.

And the famous passage where “infants” are carried to Jesus for blessing, Mt 19.13-15:

Then children were brought to him that he might lay his hands on them and pray. The disciples rebuked the people, but Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of heaven.” And he laid his hands on them and went away.

[I say "infants" because that is what Luke says - confirmed somewhat by the idea that they were brought to him, instead of coming on their own. In Mark's account, Jesus is indignant at the withholding of these infants from the blessing of their creator - and in all three accounts they, without age, are old enough to possess citizenship in the Kingdom. See the Luke and Mark passages.]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

