Waiting for God to Answer [1]

This is the 1st entry in a Series that Walks through my Sermon preparation for this Sunday (2007/11/25). If you want to read them in another order choose one of the following:

Entry 2

Entry 3

Entry 4

I am preaching this Sunday, i.e. November 25. This is the last Sunday of the Liturgical Year, as the following Sunday December 2 is Advent 1, the first day of the new year.

I have preached the last Sunday of November for the last two years. Both years the last of november was the first of Advent. So without thinking to check the calendar, I assumed I was aiming at the first Sunday of Advent, whose theme, in many churches, is “hope.” That was all well and good, but I checked the calendar late, and found out I was off a week! I had already set a lectionary according to my first plan.

So my sermon has become a sermon about waiting in the long silent times when God seems not to answer. I am going to begin a set of entries here, published over today and tomorrow that move through my thought process, actually helping me to think.

Leave a Reply

