Miscarriage

We found out yesterday that our 12 week pregnancy was carrying a child that had stopped development about 4 1/2 weeks ago. We have miscarried. We had the blessing of being sent to a Catholic hospital who treated us in a very godly way, with respect to the life of the child. They spoke of our child in the realest of ways, it is a child, it is a life. Their only allowed manner of disposition of the child is burial. We may have chromosomal testing which may tell us why the child died. It may also tell us gender.

We announced the pregnancy early for the same reason that we freely announce our loss. We wouldn’t hide another child in a room, or a grandparent – not only is a child a person, an IMAGE OF GOD, but it’s also a CHILD OF THE COVENANT.

Psalm 22

9 Yet you are he who took me from the womb;
you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts.
10 On you was I cast from my birth,
and from my mother’s womb you have been my God
.

Luke 18.15-17

15 Now they were bringing even infants to him that he might touch them. And when the disciples saw it, they rebuked them. 16 But Jesus called them to him, saying, “Let the children come to me, and do not hinder them, for to such belongs the kingdom of God. 17 Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.”

2 Chronicles 31.17-18

17 The enrollment of the priests was according to their fathers’ houses; that of the Levites from twenty years old and upward was according to their offices, by their divisions. 18 They were enrolled with all their little children, their wives, their sons, and their daughters, the whole assembly, for they were faithful in keeping themselves holy.

1 Corinthians 7.14

14 For the unbelieving husband is made holy because of his wife, and the unbelieving wife is made holy because of her husband. Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy.

Ps 71.4-6

4 Rescue me, O my God, from the hand of the wicked,
from the grasp of the unjust and cruel man.
5 For you, O Lord, are my hope,
my trust, O LORD, from my youth.
6 Upon you I have leaned from before my birth;
you are he who took me from my mother’s womb.
My praise is continually of you.

3 Responses to Miscarriage

  1. joelmartin says:

    Sorry to hear of this loss Luke.

  2. Leslie says:

    We mourn with you. – Love, the Hahs Family

  3. bobby says:

    Having gone throught the same thing earlier this year, I can truly say that I mourn with you. Thank God for his promises.

Leave a Reply

