The Completely Fair Length of Time Ron Paul Had to Answer in Comparison to Mike Huckabee

[see this transcript]

COOPER: And in it, he wrote by his hand, he said, “Called Judge O’Connor in Arizona and told her she was my nominee for Supreme Court. Already the flak is starting, and from my own supporters. Right-to-life people say she’s pro-abortion. She declares abortion is personally repugnant to her. I think she’ll make a good justice.”

That’s Ronald Reagan’s words from his own book. Governor Huckabee, was she the right choice?

HUCKABEE: History will have to determine that, and I’m not going to come to the Reagan Library and say anything about Ronald Reagan’s decisions. I’m not that stupid. If I was, I’d have no business being president.

I think we need to talk about why the issue of right-to-life is important. For many of us, this is not a political issue; this is an issue of principle and conviction. And it goes to the heart of who we are as a country.

If we value each other as human beings and believe that everybody has equal worth, and that that intrinsic value is not affected by net worth, or ancestry, or last name, or job description, or ability, or disability, then the issue of the sanctity of human life is far bigger than just being anti-abortion.

It’s about being pro-life and exercising that deep conviction held by our founding fathers that all of us are equal and no one is more equal than another, recognizing that once we ever decide that some people are more equal or less equal than others, then we start moving that line, and it may include us some day.

And that’s why for many of us — and me included. Let me be very clear: I’m pro-life. I value every human being. And I would always make every decision always on the side of life every time I could, without equivocation.

COOPER: Yes or no, Congressman Paul, was Sandra Day O’Connor the right choice?

PAUL: I wouldn’t have appointed her, because I would have looked for somebody that I would have seen as a much stricter constitutionalist. [And…]

(The New York Times transcript correctly ads the word “and”; because Anderson Cooper cut Paul off mid-scentence! [click here to read it – hover over sections till you find it.])

COOPER: Senator McCain?

___________________

Want a fairer medium for getting the message out? Here is the next item for helping the campaign:

The Revolution - A Manifesto

One Response to The Completely Fair Length of Time Ron Paul Had to Answer in Comparison to Mike Huckabee

  1. Jordan says:

    You forgot to mention that McCain spoke for well over a minute.

Leave a Reply

