Christians and Satire?

This is a question hoping to receive comments:

How do you think Christians should or should not go about using satire?  I think sometimes it is clearly written to teach, but sometimes it is mainly written to hurt.

I have been reading some Christian doctrinal satire lately that is so funny I end up crying.  But I am afraid of redirecting readers to it, because I don’t want to share in any offense that the authors might give.  I find the particular site I am reading to be TREMENDOUSLY educational – however, it is EXTREMELY polemic.

What do you think?

3 Responses to Christians and Satire?

  1. joelmartin says:

    I’d stay away from the serrated edge stuff for the general public. It is an acquired taste and can do more harm than good.

  2. saintluke says:

    I agree. I still like to read it. But I really can’t condone it publically.

  3. saintluke says:

    I think I am probably, actually, more willing to accept the medium today than I was when I wrote the original post. Thanks for your comment. I will check your links later.

Leave a Reply

