EJOTY – E J O T Y

Yes, yes…… sometimes I post weird math posts.

I like to keep up with the numeric value of letters.  A = 1, B = 2, …. Z = 26.

I devised the phrase EJOTY to help me be quicker in calculating the value of words.

E =  5

J= 10

O= 15

T= 20

Y= 25

It’s easier to count this way, and not have to do the whole alphabet.

I also thought of

C Filo Rux (that’s every 3rd letter) – Not as useful; not as efficient.

Examples:

ONE

(15)+(14)+(5) = 34

TWO

(20)+(23)+(15) = 58

THREE

(20)+(8)+(18)+(5)+(5) = 56

FOUR

(6)+(15)+(21)+(18) = 60

FIVE

(6)+(9)+(22)+(5) = 42

Not that any of this is useful – but I was stuck in a traffic jam this morning.

Leave a Reply

