Paul Wants Us to Transform the Culture

Filed in:

The Zeal of the Lord of Hosts (Post-Millennialism)

 

I posted the following comment at Jason Stellman’s blog [De Regnis Duobus]

Hi Jason, I am an outsider, and am announcing myself so I don’t seem like I am picking a fight. I basically stand over in the line at Blog and Mablog.

I noticed one line of yours quoted by someone on Doug’s list, and wanted to comment, but I thought it was better to comment here than there. Here’s the line: “all that stuff at the end of all his epistles” isn’t calling us to “transform the culture”.

I was hoping to hear your comments on a few passages that I think fit the bill:

“For I will not venture to speak of anything except what Christ has accomplished through me to bring the [nations] to obedience—by word and deed…25 Now to him who is able to strengthen you according to my gospel and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery that was kept secret for long ages 26but has now been disclosed and through the prophetic writings has been made known to all nations, according to the command of the eternal God, to bring about the obedience of faith— 27tothe only wise God be glory forevermore through Jesus Christ! Amen.” (Rom 15.18, 16.25-27)

1First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, 2 for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly anddignified in every way. 3This is good, and it is pleasing in the sight of God our Savior, 4who desires all people to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.” (1 Tim 2.1-3)

It seems to me that we live the peaceful life BECAUSE God has been pleased to save kings, and the salvation of men at all levels will have the CULTURAL effect of making society peaceable for Christians as it is conformed to Christ.

Thanks,

Luke

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

