Wasn’t the First Son of God

Filed in:

The Bible is a Book of Tales (Narrative Theology)

Do You Hear What I Hear? (Psalms)

 

Compare Psalm 23 to the Exodus Narrative – what results do we yeild?

 1The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.
 2He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
 3He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
   for his name’s sake.

 4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
   I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
   your rod and your staff,
   they comfort me.

 5You prepare a table before me
   in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
   my cup overflows.
6Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
   all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD
    forever.  (ESV)

The shepherd is being followed (he is leading) to a green land of still waters.  The Spirit leads the people past the moving waters of the Reed Sea and the Jordan to the still (that is, wells?) waters, like Jacob’s Well and the Seas of Canaan.

Even in the valley (figurative) between Sinai and Zion there is no fear, Aaron’s Staff, and the Rod of the Law are a comfort.

They were called to feast at the mountain, but their enemies would not let them away, so the LORD prepared a table in the presence of their enemies.

Their neighbors had a God-given favor and loaded them down with gold, silver and clothing… their cups overflowed.

I am not saying that the Psalm is written with this as the major emphasis, or away from the kingly motif of David on the run.  I am just saying that David wasn’t the first Son of God to be on the run from an evil king…Or the last (Ex 4.21-23, Hos 11.1, Mt 2.15).  So the pattern is present earlier, and is useful to our ears today.

Leave a Reply

